Posted in LEARN

Danielson: Why Do I Care?

The Danielson framework for teaching and learning may feel like something you pull out of a drawer and dust off a couple of times a year when you are goal setting and going through the formal observation process.

But, good teaching is good teaching, and Charlotte Danielson kind of knows what she is talking about! When you look at our big school initiatives this year, you can see how easily what we are asked to focus on aligns with what good teaching is.

  1. Student Success Goal
    • 2a: environment
    • 3a: communication
    • 3c: engagement
    • 3d: assessment
  2. Increased Access to AP
    • 2b: culture for learning
    • 3c: engagement
    • 3d: assessment
  3. Increased Use of Formative Assessment
    • 2c: procedures
    • 3a: communication
    • 3b: questioning
    • 3c: engagement
    • 3d: assessment
    • 3e: flexibility
  4. Essential Skills/Leveling/SBG
    • 2c: procedures
    • 3a: communication
    • 3b: questioning
    • 3d: assessment
    • 3e: flexibility
  5. 10 Minutes of Reading
    • 2d: managing behavior
    • 3c: engagement
    • 3e: flexibility
  6. STEM/Classroom Innovation
    • 2e: physical space
    • 3c: engagement

When you look at this list, it can be overwhelming, but I see 2 important trends that should be at the forefront of our focus as teachers:

  1. Student Engagement: What are we doing in our classrooms to engage students in the important work we have for them? This can feel SO hard to do sometimes. But, getting students engaged in our lessons and in their own learning is necessary to increasing learning.
  2. Using Assessment in Instruction: Yep, read that again. Using assessment IN instruction. Assessment isn’t just about giving a student a grade. It is about giving us as teachers information about where to go next with our students.

If you feel overwhelmed with all that is going on, with “leveling” and “standards based grading” and “essential skills”, I would encourage you to take a deep breath and focus first on these questions:

  • What am I doing to engage students in my classroom? How has student engagement been so far this year in my classroom? What new methods can I try to increase student engagement?
  • What am I doing to use assessment in instruction? How have I used the data from assessments that I have given? Has my instruction changed at all based on the data I have received from my assessments so far?

This year, as a teaching and learning facilitator, I can do MUCH MORE than help you set up your grade book (although I love doing that…)! I am happy to help with these things as well! Talking students, learning, and assessment is what I like most about my job!

Thanks for reading!

Author:

Teaching and Learning Facilitator at Wheeling High School English Teacher Apple Teacher

Leave a Reply

