Posted in Professional Development

Shadow a Student Reflection

It has been a week since members of the ILT participated in the 2017 Shadow a Student Day. Across the nation, school leadership teams participated in shadowing students to learn more about the student experience at school. Our team consisted of our principalship, our division heads, our librarian, our RtI coordinator, and myself. On the April 3 inservice day, you will have the opportunity to come and learn more about this day, ask questions, and even sign up to participate in shadowing a student in the month of April. In case you are not able to attend this session, however, I wanted to focus on our number 1 take away.

High school students sit. A lot. Perhaps my own experience made this CRYSTAL clear because my student didn’t even have a PE class where we could engage in some physical activity for 30 minutes to break up the day. This was one of the things that we collected data on, and in over half of the classes we experienced that day, kids had the chance to get up and move, which is awesome! Eric Jensen would be proud! But after experiencing this day, I thought a lot about my own class, and MOSTLY my getting up and moving experiences consist of moving desks into groups and then back into rows…moving for 30 seconds to do…you guessed it…more sitting! 

IRONICALLY, and perhaps this is something that you experience as well, when I actually plan something intentional to get my students up and moving, they COMPLAIN! Ha! They WANT to just sit. But, just like my children at home who want to eat cookies and candy ALL the time, and I should not always give them what they want!

I personally am going to recommit to getting my kids up and moving more often in my classroom, and not just rearranging the desks, because I know that movement IS learning (read more about that here)!

Here is an activity that I did with students this past fall that I think is a good example of how to get kids moving AND learning that I adopted from one of the Jensen strategies we learned last year. In this example, we were reviewing stems. I would say the definition, and they would do the motion associated with each stem instead of saying the word. I know they love kahoot, but this gets them learning in a different way, a way that engages their minds AND their bodies. PLEASE share your ideas to get kids up and moving with my be commenting on this blog or emailing me directly! The more we share, the more we learn!

Thanks for reading!

 

Author:

Teaching and Learning Facilitator at Wheeling High School English Teacher Apple Teacher

Leave a Reply

